News Archives

Buffalo Bills Safety Jairus Byrd Makes Second-team NFL All Pro

January 13th, 2013 at 9:00 AM
By Paul Lane Sabres 101
Free agent-to-be Jairus Byrd has yet another bargaining chip, as the Buffalo Bills safety earned second-team NFL All Pro honors.
Byrd – who was not named to the Pro Bowl – had 76 tackles on the season along with five interceptions and four forced fumbles. He was also an All Pro as a rookie in 2009, when he also made the Pro Bowl and All-Rookie Team. He got seven votes from the 50-membe panel, fourth out of all safeties in the NFL.
'Crowd at the Buffalo Bills vs Jackson Jaguars game' photo (c) 2010, mark.watmough - license:
Byrd just finished up the final year of his four-year, $4.15 million contract. The Bills began negotiating with him during the season to keep him off the market when free agency opens March 1, as he will likely command a contract similar to that given to Ravens safety Ed Reed (seven years, $40.1 million).
Byrd was the only Bills player to make the All Pro Team. Here is the full roster.
QB: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos
RB: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle Seahawks
FB: Vonta Leach, Baltimore Ravens
TE: Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta Falcons
WR: Calvin Johnson, Detroit Lions; Brandon Marshall, Chicago Bears
T: Duane Brown, Houston Texans; Ryan Clady, Denver Broncos
G: Mike Iupati, San Francisco 49ers; Jahri Evans, New Orleans Saints
C.: Max Unger, Seattle Seahawks
PK: Blair Walsh, Minnesota Vikings
KR: Jacoby Jones, Baltimore Ravens
DE: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Cameron Wake, Miami Dolphins
DT: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati Bengals; Vince Wilfork, New England Patriots
OLB: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; Aldon Smith, San Francisco 49ers
ILB: Patrick Willis, San Francisco 49ers; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco 49ers
CB: Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks; Charles Tillman, Chicago Bears
S: Earl Thomas, Seattle Seahawks; Dashon Goldson, San Francisco 49ers
P: Andy Lee, San Francisco 49ers
QB: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers
RB: Alfred Morris, Washington Redskins; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City Chiefs
FB: Jerome Felton, Minnesota Vikings
TE: Jason Witten, Dallas Cowboys
WR: A.J. Green, Cincinnati Bengals; Andre Johnson, Houston Texans
T: Joe Thomas, Cleveland Browns; Joe Staley, San Francisco 49ers
G: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens; Logan Mankins, New England Patriots
C: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Steelers
PK: Phil Dawson, Cleveland Browns
KR: David Wilson, New York Giants
DE: Justin Smith, San Francisco 49ers; Julius Peppers, Chicago Bears
DT: Justin Smith, San Francisco 49ers; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit Lions; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore Ravens
OLB: Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco 49ers, Clay Matthews, Green Bay Packers; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas Cowboys
ILB: Daryl Washington, Arizona Cardinals; London Fletcher, Washington Redskins
CB: Champ Bailey, Denver Broncos; Tim Jennings, Chicago Bears
S: Eric Weddle, San Diego Chargers; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo Bills
P: Thomas Morstead, New Orleans Saints
Tags: Buffalo, Buffalo Bills, Football, NFL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: