News Archives

Former Buffalo Bills Receiver Andre Reed Once Again a Hall of Fame Finalist

January 12th, 2013 at 2:04 PM
By Paul Lane Sabres 101
For the third straight year, former Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Reed was one of 15 modern-era finalists announced Friday. He made it to the top 10 last season and the top 15 in 2011 before being spurned.
'Pro Football Hall of Fame' photo (c) 2011, marada - license:
Reed is part of a glut of receivers waiting for eventual enshrinement. Cris Carter and Tim Brown are also finalists this year, as they were in 2012 and 2011. The consensus seems to be that voters can't settle on one of them, so all three get passed over.
For his 16-year career, Reed has 951 yards for 12,198 yards and 87 touchdowns. He had a career-high 90 catches in 1994 and twice eclipsed the 1,300-yard mark while often serving as the second or third option on his own team (behind Hall of Fame WR James Lofton and RB Thurman Thomas).
Between four and seven people will be enshrined when voting is finalized Feb. 2. Among four first-timers, OT Jonathan Ogden, DT Warren Sapp and DE Michael Strahan seem like sure-fire enshrinees. Former Bills special teamer Steve Tasker was a semifinalist but didn't make the final 15.
Here is the full list of modern-era and senior nominees:
  • OG Larry Allen (1994-2007)
  • RB Jerome Bettis (1993-2005)
  • WR Tim Brown (1988-2004)
  • WR Cris Carter (1987-20020
  • DT Curley Culp (1968-81)
  • Owner Edward DeBartolo Jr.
  • DE Kevin Greene (1985-99)
  • DE Charles Haley (1986-99)
  • Owner Art Modell
  • OT Jonathan Ogden (1996-07)
  • Coach Bill Parcells
  • WR Andre Reed (1985-2000)
  • LB Dave Robinson (1963-74)
  • DT Warren Sapp (1995-2007)
  • OG Will Shields (1993-2006)
  • DE Michael Strahan (1993-2007)
  • CB Aeneas Williams (1991-2004)
Tags: Buffalo, Buffalo Bills, Football, NFL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: